lgkillo.blogg.se

Install linux on old mac
Install linux on old mac













install linux on old mac install linux on old mac

The graphic driver that Ubuntu installs by default (Nouveau) has bugs with the MacBook Air 3 graphic processor, the nvidia GeForce 320M (G320M). The core problem with the installation is this. If full graphics performance is desired, a “Legacy BIOS Install” is needed.įrom the forum post that the commenter cites, which is concerned with a MacBook Air 3,2:

#Install linux on old mac drivers

A helpful commenter, Brian Moran, writes that, when installing Ubuntu on an older Mac with a NVIDIA graphics card, it may be better to “boot in ‘Legacy BIOS mode’, not in ‘EFI’ mode”:Īpparently what is happening is that both the open source and Nvidia drivers are buggy when doing an “EFI Install” on Mac machines. UPDATE (February 2017): Before moving ahead, you may want to consider the following. Furthermore I think all the data I had on my USB stick is lost due to it being formatted in a certain way at some point in the procedure. There are ways to dual-boot both, but I wasn’t interested in that as Mavericks was running super slow on this computer. For example I believe I had to do steps 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, and 11 only because I have a MBP with an Intel chip.Īlso, WARNING, this procedure completely wiped my OS X and all the files and applications on that installation, as I intended. I believe I bought it in the summer of 2009.Īgain, note, this worked for me and my machine but may not for you.















Install linux on old mac